Artist Dire Straits
Venue Stadio Comunale, San Remo, Italy
Date 27th June 1981
Source Audience
Format 2CD-R
Tracks CD 1
  1. Intro
  2. Once upon a time in the west
  3. Expresso love
  4. Down to the waterline
  5. Lions
  6. Skateaway
  7. Romeo and Juliet
  8. News
  9. Sultans of swing
Tracks CD 2
  1. Portobello belle
  2. Angel of mercy
  3. Tunnel of love
  4. Telegraph road
  5. Where do you think you're going?
  6. Solid rock
Additional comments Very nice sounding recording, taken from master cassette tape. It's the first ever concert of Dire Straits in Italy. During this period Dire Straits experimented a lot with their music. Adding new sounds, new arrangements and also new songs, plus some new band members. This is the "missing link" between the old Dire Straits and the new which you can hear on Love over Gold and on Alchemy at it's peak. This is perhaps the most interesting period of Dire Straits because of the experiments in the sound. The song News is dedicated to John Lennon and Bob Marley. Except for a very small part missing at the end of Romeo and Juliet, it's the complete concert. Great versions including Telegraph road which was a new song by then and not officially released yet.