DIRE STRAITS 1977-1993
Artist Dire Straits
Release date 1991
Recording Basing Street Studios, London UK, 13th February 1978 - 5th March 1978 [2]
Power Station, New York USA / Record Plant, New York, USA, 20th June 1980 - 25th August 1980 [4, 5]
Jam Studios, London UK, 1st October 1982 - 3rd October 1982 [3]
Power Station, New York, USA, 8th March 1982 - 11th June 1982 [7]
Air Studios, Montserrat, West Indies, 2nd November 1984 - 21st December 1984 and 3rd January 1985 - 6th February 1985 [6, 8, 9]
Air Studios, London UK, November 1990 - May 1991 [1, 10, 11, 12, 13]
Format 1CD
Label Vertigo
Cat.no. SND-31
  1. Calling Elvis (radio edit)
  2. Sultans of swing
  3. Twisting by the pool (remix)
  4. Tunnel of love
  5. Romeo and Juliet
  6. Walk of life
  7. Private investigations
  8. Money for nothing
  9. Brothers in arms
  10. Heavy fuel
  11. On every street
  12. The bug
  13. Millionaire blues
Front & back cover          
CD details




Details front cover


Detail backside front inlay
Detail inside front inlay
Additional comments Ultra rare promotional CD! This is one of the toughest CD's from Dire Straits to get your hands on. The CD is packed in a normal jewel case. Manufactured and distributed by Nippon Phonogram Co.,Ltd. Tokyo. Made in Japan. Very rare to see a B-side (Millionaire blues) as part of a compilation / promo CD. Over the years, only a couple of them appeared on Eil & Ebay and were sold for very high prices. It took 27 years before I finally could add this CD to my collection (July 2018). This silver pressed CD is a bit of a mystery with a title called Dire Straits 1977-1993. You would expect that it is made in 1993 then, but I think it is from 1991 for the following reasons:

- When you look at the details on the CD, backside of the front cover and the back cover, it mentions that it is produced in 1991.
- Inside of the front inlay, all original albums are mentioned released until the date of manufacturing, and the list stops at the compilation album Money for nothing from 1988, indicating that the On every street album from 1991 was not yet released.
- The front cover is made in the On every street style (with an inedit picture of Mark Knopfler taken at the concert in Knebworth, Hertfordshire, UK, 30th June 1990)
- The compilation starts with the single of the On every street album; Calling Elvis

I think that this CD was meant as a promotion for the On every street album which was released in September 1991. But why is 1993 mentioned in the title of this CD then? Maybe (but that is just speculation) this CD is so extremely rare because of the mistake they made by mentioning 1977-1993 instead of 1977-1991 and it was deleted / destroyed because of that. It looks like several copies found their way outside the factory anyway and these few CD's are in the hands of collectors ever since. If you read this and have more information about this CD, I would be very interested to hear from you to see if my theory is correct.