Artist Mark Knopfler
Venue The Greek Theatre, Los Angeles, USA
Date 20th May 2001
Source Audience
Format 2CD-R
Tracks CD 1
  1. Calling Elvis
  2. Walk of life
  3. Rüdiger
  4. What it is
  5. Romeo and Juliet
  6. Sultans of swing
  7. Band introduction
  8. Done with Bonaparte
  9. Sailing to Philadelphia (featuring Jackson Browne)
  10. Junkie doll
Tracks CD 2
  1. Speedway at Nazareth
  2. Prairie wedding (featuring Bonnie Raitt)
  3. Pyroman (featuring Bonnie Raitt)
  4. Telegraph road
  5. Wag the dog
  6. Money for nothing
  7. So far away
Additional comments

A really rare and amazing good recording, taken from Mark Knopfler's In Ear Monitor (IEM). On this recording, you can hear exactly what Mark hears when he's on stage. His voice and guitar are obvious very clear on this recording. It's a soundboard recording, but it isn't from the "Front-of-house" soundboard, but from the "Stage Monitor" soundboard. Since these signals are separate monitor board mixes sent via a wireless frequency to the receiver pack that each musician wears, anyone with a wireless multi-channel receiver can record it as long as they know the frequency. And that's what probably happened during this show. What makes it even more unique is that this recording also features guest appearances of Jackson Browne on Sailing to Philadelphia and Bonnie Raitt on Prairie wedding and Pyroman. Bonnie plays beautifully haunting slide guitar on Prairie wedding and sings a high vocal harmony in the chorus. After the song Mark says: "Stick around Bonnie, stick around." followed by Pyroman on which she also plays great slide guitar. Very interesting concert, and an even more interesting sound source! Complete setlist.

In Ear Monitor