OSLO 2001
Artist Mark Knopfler
Venue Spektrum, Oslo, Norway
Date 26th July 2001
Source Audience
Format 2CD-R
Tracks CD 1
  1. Calling Elvis
  2. Walk of life
  3. Bonnie Banks O'Loch Lomond
  4. What it is
  5. Romeo and Juliet
  6. Sultans of swing
  7. Done with Bonaparte
  8. Wag the dog
  9. Baloney again
Tracks CD 2
  1. Junkie doll
  2. Pyroman
  3. Speedway at Nazareth
  4. Telegraph road
  5. Brothers in arms
  6. Money for nothing - intro
  7. Money for nothing
  8. So far away
  9. Wild theme
Additional comments Good audience recording. Great to hear how Mark Knopfler makes a mistake when he wants to start the Money for nothing solo after the intro: he forgot to turn on the volume on his guitar. The result is a small pause, very quickly followed by a drum hit by Chad Cromwell and Mark's solo. Very professional how the band handles this. Other fact is that during this show the famous Pyroman-bass broke after the drop at the end of the song. Complete setlist.
Pyroman-bass story This White Fender Precision bass has been used extensively on the Mark Knopfler Sailing to Philadelphia 2001 world tour by Glenn Worf. Glenn bought the bass second hand in San Fransisco in May 2001. It’s sole purpose was to perform the song Pyroman which involves a rather violent end scenario in which Glenn drops the bass from a great height. At the end of this concert's performance of Pyroman the headstock has split in 3 places. Everyone in the band signed the PyroBass after the last show at midnight in Moscow, 31st July 2001. After the tour, the bass was auctioned on Ebay by Guy Fletcher. The bass was sold for 3,777.00. All proceeds from this sale were donated to the Teenage Cancer Trust charity in the UK.