Artist The Notting Hillbillies & Dire Straits
Venue Shepherd's Bush Empire, London, UK
Date 28th July 2002
Source Audience
Format 2CD-R
Tracks CD 1
  1. Calling Elvis
  2. Run me down
  3. Your own sweet way
  4. Railroad worksong
  5. Are we in trouble now
  6. Quality shoe
  7. Hobo's lullaby
  8. Can't be satisfied
  9. Feel like going home
  10. Setting me up
Tracks CD 2
  1. Walk of life
  2. What it is
  3. Romeo and Juliet
  4. Sultans of swing
  5. Your latest trick
  6. Why aye man
  7. Money for nothing
  8. Brothers in arms
  9. So far away
  10. Going home
Additional comments Very good audience recording of the last of four charity gigs in July 2002. This one is on behalf of Countryside Education Trust. Announced as "Mark Knopfler and friends", Mark plays with The Notting Hillbillies in the first half of the show and with virtually Dire Straits (including John Illsley and Chris White) in the second half. But during the whole gig different musicians are turning up. Jimmy Nail came on stage for backing vocals on Why aye man, Money for nothing and So far away. Some nice arrangements on What it is, Romeo and Juliet, and including new songs Quality shoe and Why aye man from The ragpicker's dream album which was released two months after the charity shows. Good sound quality.